List of Accredited Courses offered in Obafemi Awolowo University, (OAU).

Here is the information you needed on the Full accredited / Approved Courses in Obafemi Awolowo University Ife (OAU), by National University Commission.



Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) is a federal government owned and operated Nigerian university. The university is in the ancient city of Ile-Ife, Osun State, Nigeria. The university was founded in 1961 and classes commenced in October 1962  as the University of Ife by the regional government of Western Nigeria, led by late chief Samuel Ladoke Akintola, and was renamed Obafemi Awolowo University on 12 May 1987 in honour of Chief Obafemi Awolowo (1909–1987), first premier of the Western Region of Nigeria, whose brainchild the university was.




In 1952, the administration of Nigeria’s regions changed from colonial to African hands which meant elected legislators and regional premiers. The new regional governments proceeded to make expansion of primary and secondary education a policy priority. An underlying purpose of these expansion was the view that education was an important agent of transformation and development. In 1959, the Federal Minister of Education created a commission to research the country’s future manpower needs of university graduates specifically for the years between 1960 and 1980.



List of Accredited Courses offered in Obafemi Awolowo University, (OAU). 1


Admission Requirements

Undergraduate Studies

Applicants seeking admission to First Year of a degree course in the University must be qualified for admission before the beginning of the session in which to enter. The applicants must meet both;

  1. The genrral entrance requirements, and
  2. Additional Faculty or Departmental requirements.

Students intending to enter the University are advised to obtain information from the University about entry requirements to ensure that they have satisfied the requirements by the time they apply for admission.

  • For admission into 100 level (UTME), Candidates must;


  1. Candidate must obtain Five (5) Credit passes at SSCE (or equivalent) in relevant subjects at not more than two sitting’s and
  2. An Acceptable score in unified tertiary matriculation examination (UTME) in relevant subjects


  • For admission into 200 level (Direct Entry),Candidates should, in addition to five SSCE credit passes as in (1) above, Obtain at least two A ‘level (or its equivalent) passes in relevant subject, or possess NCE or OND with Credit passes, or possess a good first degree in another field as the case may be.


DON’T MISS: Obafemi Awolowo University School Fees, Courses Offered & Admission Requirements

Here are the Comprehensive Lists of Approved Courses Offered in Obafemi Awolowo Uniniversity Ife (OAU) by the National Universities Commissions

Faculty of Agriculture

  • Agricultural Economics
  • Agricultural Extension and Rural Sociology
  • Animal Science
  • Crop Production
  • Food Nutrition and Consumer Sciences
  • Plant Science


Faculty of Administration


  • Management and Accounting
  • Public Administration


Faculty of Arts

  • Dramatic Arts
  • English Language
  • Fine and Applied Arts
  • Foreign Language
  • History
  • International Relations
  • Literature in English
  • Music
  • Religious Studies


Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

  • Anatomy and Cell Biology
  • Chemical Pathology
  • Haematology and Immunology
  • Medical Biology and Parasitology
  • Medical Rehabilitation
  • Morbid Anatomy and Forensic Medicine
  • Nursing
  • Physiological Sciences
  • Medical Biochemistry


Faculty of Clinical Sciences

  • Anaesthesia
  • Community Health
  • Dermatology and Venereology
  • Medicine & Surgery
  • Mental Health
  • Obstetrics, Gynecology and Perinatology
  • Orthopaedics and Traumatology
  • Paediatrics and Child Health
  • Radiology


Faculty of Dentistry

  • Child Dental Health
  • Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and Oral Pathology
  • Preventive and Community Dentistry
  • Restorative Dentistry
  • Oral Pathology


Faculty of Environmental Design and Management

  • Architecture
  • Archeology
  • Building
  • Estate Management
  • Geography
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Urban and Regional Planning


Faculty of Education

  • Adult Education and Lifelong Learning
  • Educational Management
  • Educational Foundation and Counseling
  • Educational Technology and Library Studies
  • Physical and Health Education
  • Arts and Social Science Education
  • Science and Technology Education
  • Continuing Education
  • Educational Administration and Planning



Faculty of Pharmacy

  • Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Administration
  • Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Pharmaceutics
  • Pharmacognosy
  • Pharmacology
  • Drug Research and Production Unit


Faculty of Sciences

  • Biochemistry
  • Botany
  • Chemistry
  • Geology
  • Mathematics
  • Microbiology
  • Physics
  • Zoology


Faculty of Social Sciences

  • Economics
  • Local Government Studies
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Sociology and Anthropology


Faculty of Technology

  • Agricultural and Environmental Engineering
  • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Electronic and Electrical Engineering
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Materials Sciences and Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering


Faculty of Law

  • Business Law
  • International Law
  • Jurisprudence and Private Law
  • Public Law


As you have read all the Understood, the Approved lists of Courses Offered in Obafemi Awolowo University by the National Universities Commission, I hope the information was helpful, you could help others by sharing our posts via Facebook, twitter and other social media platform.



Read Also





The List of Accredited Courses in OAU is made possible by Admin.


  1. Please the arrangements are not correct. Given that some of the courses listed are not in the right faculties that offers such courses. Thank you.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here